Have you ever heard someone mention that there are two different cemeteries on The Dawes Arboretum's property and been confused? Look no further – here’s the difference between Dawes Memorial and Beard-Green Cemetery.
The Dawes Memorial is a burial site on grounds that honors the Dawes family. It can be found nestled just off of the North Auto Tour in a grove of trees. It is a place of remembrance, continuity and living history.
Construction of the memorial was completed in 1942 and was designed and installed by the Presbey-Leland Studios in New York. A combination of oak and beech leaves make up much of the decorative carving that harmonizes with the native trees once surrounding the memorial.
Beman and Bertie Dawes said the third generation of family descendants may be buried within the Dawes Memorial. Their five children and following descendants are buried in five lines running north of the Memorial. This is an active cemetery but open for the public to tour, inviting visitors to reflect on family legacy, stewardship and the enduring connection between the Dawes family and the land they gifted to future generations.
The Beard-Green Cemetery is located inside The Arboretum just off of our South Auto Tour. This is an Ohio Historical Marker where many Revolutionary War Veterans lie.
The Dawes Arboretum does not own, manage or maintain the Beard-Green Cemetery. It is managed by Michael Kirk and Larry Myers. To learn more about the history of Beard-Green Cemetery, please reach out to Michael Kirk at beardgreencemetery@gmail.com. To learn about maintenance or access, please reach out to Larry Myers at myersle@twc.com or by calling 614-499-1730.
